Asteroids in Astrology


What is an Asteroid?

An Asteroid is an object in the solar system that is made up of debris left over when the Solar System was created millions of years ago. Most Asteroids are found in the Asteroid Belt, a huge ring that lies between the orbits of Mars and Jupiter. There are several hundred thousands that have been discovered and it is estimated that there may be over a million of smaller ones floating around out there yet to be detected.

What is an Asteroid’s role in astrology?

Asteroids have a specific role in astrology in that they help refine the “story” of your Natal chart, or as transits, through a connection to mythology. They don’t carry the same weight as planets and only have a very tight orb, 1 degree or less. Many astrologers only consider their relevance when they come in contact with the Sun, Moon, Ascendant, or Midheaven in the Natal, or they connect with a transiting planet. They give an interesting perspective for an added interpretation.

What is the difference between a Planet and an Asteroid?

There are differences between planets and asteroid, which are significant. A planet is a celestial body with an atmosphere that orbits around a star, in the case of our Solar System, the Sun. This occurs because of the gravity of both the planet and the Sun. The planetary gravitational pull of the planet also determines the elliptical shape of the orbit and the shape of the planet. The stronger the pull, the more rounded the shape.

On the other hand, Asteroids are chunks of rock ranging in size from pebbles up to 600 miles in diameter, all of which are too small to qualify as a planet. Most are irregular in shape and have no atmosphere. It is thought that they are made up of metallic particles and have surfaces that are covered by dust. They do orbit the Sun, so are a part of the Solar System along with the planets.


While there are numerous Asteroids, there are several that Astrologers consider to have significance when they come in contact with the planets or points in the Natal. By familiarizing yourself with the terminology, you can have a better understanding when they crop up in daily astrological articles.


Once said to be an asteroid, she has been upgraded to the status of Dwarf Planet, making her as important as Pluto in the opinion of some astrologers since Pluto was downgraded from full-fledged planet to dwarf. She is symbolic of Mother Nature and is often called the Great Mother Goddess. She represents the connection between the child and the mother, rules growth of all living things, and nurturing.


Chiron is seen by some as an asteroid, a comet by others, and as an asteroid comet by still others. Regardless of what he is technically called, he is considered to be the Wounded Healer and a bridge between the inner and outer planets. He is also thought to be a great teacher and the one who brought the resurgence of astrology. In mythology he is the Centaur who was unable to heal himself, but he gives you access to your deepest inner pain and wounds to be able to heal, forgive, and release.


Eris is technically a Dwarf Planet with a mass 28% larger than Pluto and at one time was set to become the tenth planet in the Solar System, but didn’t meet other criteria to qualify. She is the Goddess of Strife and Discord. In some ways she can also be the Goddess of Harmony, because through illuminating the areas of discord and strife, you can move into harmony. She is the sister of Ares (Greek mythology) or Mars (Roman mythology), so some consider her to be the Goddess of War.


Juno is the Queen of the Goddesses and is considered to be the Marriage Asteroid. This is different than what the Divine Lovers, Venus and Mars, indicate about love and romance. Venus is the Goddess of Love, but doesn’t always get down to the business of the wedding. Juno shows the type of partner that you need, not the idealized one offered by Venus/Mars. By working at a fundamental level, she helps to identify the person best suited for you and the timing of taking the big plunge to the altar.


In mythology, Lilith is famous as the Demon Goddess. She is also called the Dark Moon and indicates the dark side of the personality, which resides in everyone. She also relates to things deep in the subconscious, such as temptations towards revenge that can be harmful to the Self if allowed to run rampant. There are considered to be three Liliths, Asteroid Lilith, Dark Moon Lilith, and Black Moon Lilith, which all have an impact that can be negative or positive depending on the aspects But by being aware, you can diffuse the negativity and see beyond it when it comes up.


She is the Goddess of Creative Intelligence and Wisdom. Pallas is a symbol for feminine independence for both females and males, and the ability for arranging or re-arranging anything as the necessity arises. She relates to a philosophical view of the world and when you choose to make changes to live your life in a particular way, this can the result of Pallas making the subtle, or not so, suggestion.


Vesta represents the High Priestess and is the keeper of the Sacred Flame. In the natal, chart she indicates energy you came into this life with that is creative and allows you to regenerate and achieve goals. She relates to Spiritual practice, devotion, dedication, self-respect, and work. Transiting Vesta works hard to help you change what needs to be changed and gives you the support to do it.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Very informative!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *